New Benefits and Protections for Grubhub Drivers in California
The Protect App-Based Drivers and Services Act (a.k.a. Proposition 22) has taken effect in California and some changes are in store for the state’s Grubhub drivers. Starting today, drivers in California will have a number of new benefits and protections, including:
Guaranteed minimum earnings of at least 120 percent of California’s minimum wage for active delivery time before tip (or calculated using the local minimum wage if it’s higher). In addition, drivers will receive 30 cents per active mile driven.
Healthcare subsidy from Grubhub after a minimum of 15 hours of active driving per week, and a higher subsidy if a driver has 25 or more hours of active driving. The subsidy amount is based on an average monthly premium cost for a healthcare plan through the Covered California marketplace.
Mandatory rest periods of six hours after 12 hours of active driving (within a 24 hour period).
In addition to the guaranteed minimum earnings, Grubhub drivers will continue to receive 100 percent of tips they earn. We will also soon be rolling out the ability for diners to add a tip for the driver after an order is delivered.
Drivers in California will soon receive mandatory safety training as well, which will include information about food safety plus defensive driving and collision avoidance techniques. They will also receive information about sexual harassment prevention, and learn how to recognize and report sexual assault and misconduct.
Additional provisions of Prop 22 will continue to take effect in 2021 and further expand protections for delivery drivers and the public. The upcoming protections include occupational accident insurance and additional protections to cover medical expenses and lost income. More information will be released in the coming months.